518 622 2626 

Waterfall Rentals

Vacation rentals

2 hours from new york city

margie@waterfallrentals.com


T said...
May 3, 2014
-
I want to buy this house

Date of Stay
April 27, 2014

WOW, what a treat, can't believe such an amazing home is just two hours away. It's breath taking , we took our two dogs and I've never seen them as happy. I can't wait to return
Recommended for: People with Disabilities,  Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Tourists without a Car,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers
Owners Response
We're thrilled the two of you and your pups experienced the magic of The Waterfall House and we look forward to your next visit! Warmer weather means you'll enjoy cooling off in our pristine swimming holes!

DD said...
Oct 16, 2015


Spectacular

Date of Stay
September 26, 2015

What a great getaway from NYC...only a few hours drive. Palenville is centrally located, and within 30 minutes of so many places to explore...Hunter Mountain, Saugerties, Woodstock, Hudson, Rhinebeck...we loved Fernwood, the family-run restaurant, just steps from our front door. The owners were very attentive hosts and made our stay most comfortable. Kept our dogs on-leash, most of the time, and walked each individually after dark, given how dark it was and knowing that animals were lurking...didn't see them, but did smell skunk. If you do go, you'll probably say that the pictures don't do it justice...

To reserve your time in the Waterfall House, 

Call Today

516-984-1343

margie@thewaterfallrentals.com

A said...
May 28, 2010
-

Waterfall House is a gem!

Date of Stay
May 18, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful week in the Hudson Valley and Woodstock areas where we stayed at the beautiful Waterfall House. Staying here was an inspired idea. We wanted to explore the beauty and history of the Hudson region and having this house as our home base enhanced our experience. We felt like we were in the Loire Valley in France. The house is very gracious -- a delight both inside and out. Everywhere one looks from the house - the waterfalls, streams, swimming holes, wildflowers, trees, sky, hiking paths-- is picturesque and spiritually nourishing. The water is sparkling clean and refreshing. The beautiful views keep changing according to the time of day and light. I loved just sitting and reading on the porch and looking at the views. The house is completely comfortable. It's clear that every amenity was thought of. Great bed, great natural cotton sheets, light but warm down comforters. Robes, creams, shampoos etc. It's like being in a first class hotel but it's private and it was all ours. The kitchen was fun to use and had every appliance needed to make gourmet meals. Besides the great breakfast that was left for us in the refrigerator -- fresh milk, farm eggs, butter, bread, coffees, granola, juice, the house contains everything we needed to cook our own gourmet dinner. I appreciated all the spices, kinds of olive oils, vinegars, wine etc. It was great not having to go buy those things. We loved lounging around, making our own breakfast and packing picnics. We even bar b que'd. The house feels really cozy and is tastefully done. It is filled with lots of very good art, nice furniture and vintage relics of the area. The quality media equipment was easy to use and the library of books, dvd's, cd's that they've got were ones that I've actually wanted to read, see, hear and, in this cozy nest, we actually did that sitting in front of the fire place. Being in this house was a pleasure and makes me want to return to the area and to the house very soon. It was the perfect backdrop for us to enjoy being together. So much better than being in a hotel. We had a great time. p.s. The Saugerties Light House is A+ extraordinary.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 
Response

Our typed reviews are what guests have shared on booking sites, our 

"thoughts" are pages of wonderful comments from our guest book.  Be sure to leave us a message when you stay with us .....

Z B. said...
Jun 24, 2012

Dog lover's paradise

Date of Stay
June 12, 2012

From the moment I stumbled upon this listing I knew we had found our definitive vacation rental. Barbara and Bob have thought of everything a dog loving family from NYC in desperate need of a retreat could ask for -- and that is an understatement. From the stocked pantry and doggie supplies, to the tasteful decor and majestic vistas, the waterfall house is a treasure to behold. The warmth and generous spirit of the home is an entity unto itself, the masterwork of Barbara and Bob themselves. Though we never met in person we felt we had known them for years, a testament to how comfortable and welcomed we felt throughout our stay. We highly recommend this vacation rental and look forward to our next visit.

E PD. said...
May 25, 2014
-
Land of the magical waterfalls


Date of Stay
May 13, 2014

Don't look any further for a place to stay near Woodstock. This is it. But please don't book when I want to book. That's the danger of writing a good review, isn't it? The secret gets out. Discover for yourself why this home is so incredible. Owners are rock stars too.

Anonymous said...
Jun 3, 2015

Superb Family Reunion

Date of Stay
May 24, 2015

The home was meticulously kept, the decor is whimsical and fun. The setting was stunning with the waterfall as the star of the show. The owner's were avail for any questions we had. Local restraurants were very good. The hiking was exceptional. We really enjoyed the hippie-town of New Paltz as a base for our climbing adventures in the "Gunks". The home is very well stocked with a wide variety of music, books, movies and maps. We can't wait to return to this very special property.

Anonymous said...
Aug 8, 2013
-
Peace, Tranquility & Nature

Date of Stay
August 1, 2013

There are no words that can truly sum up this property. A beautiful home situated amongst the Catskill mountains was exactly the getaway we needed. The breath taking scenery, the roaring hum of the waterfalls, the magnificent gardens, and the comforts of the home were just a few of highlights. There are no negatives here, only positives. You can rest assured that Babs and Bob will rent you a home that will lead to eternal memories. I know that a part of our spirits will always remain at the Waterfall House. It's safe to say our first trip out there most definitely will not be our last.

LR. said...
Aug 26, 2015

Lovely Property

Date of Stay
August 1, 2015
Helpful votes:1/1
My wife recently completed a four week stay at this property and we genuinely enjoyed ourselves. The house is as described in the ad but the sound of the water cascading down the falls and adjacent to the porch are even better than advertised! Bob and Barbara are gracious hosts. They managed to make themselves available as we needed without hovering. We benefited from their suggestions about how to spend our time, answwering questions we had not thought about before arriving. We had a few suggestions such as sharpening the knives and they took care of them within a few hours. Remarkably helpful.

Anonymous said...
Sep 21, 2013
-
Peace in the Catskills

Date of Stay
September 15, 2013

Serenity is the word that best describes experiencing The Waterfall House. This charming, simple country home is comfortable, clean and reminiscent of times gone by. The owners know that they have something special and are most enthusiastic in sharing it. Calls were welcomed.The activities and restaurant recommendations provided were right on. Nature abounds .The falls are part of this private property and are for the use of property guests only. This rare opportunity to reconnect with Mother Earth is not to be missed by romantics, nature lovers and those who who seek spiritual renewal.
Recommended for: Pet-friendly,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 

E D. said...
Mar 5, 2014

Little jewel box on a waterfall

Date of Stay
March 1, 2014

We were happy to arrive to an adorable, warm house with a freshly shoveled walkway and a basket of goodies. The large picture windows throughout invited you to sit and enjoy the view with a cup of coffee and a good book. The house is filled with character and was thoughtfully and tastefully decorated with whimsical touches including a giant toothbrush, giant pencil, and giant ice cream cones, which both the kids and adults in our party loved. A fenced-in area allowed the kids to enjoy the snow and the quiet, dead end road was safe for a bit of exploring. Really loved our stay. Thanks, Bob & Babs! xo
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway
My Response
You were wonderful guests, and while winter at The Waterfall House is magical, we're eager for you to experience the other seasons! Many thanks for your kind thoughts, and we look forward to your next visit!

i g said...
Sep 25, 2013

Amazing!

Date of Stay
September 19, 2013

I am at a lost for superlative adjectives for this house surrounded by amazingly beautiful grounds. The perfect place to leave your worries and or stress behind. You can choose to do nothing and stare at the falls and the ever changing light, or take advantage of the many nearby activities and sites. Bob & Barbara were wonderful! Very informative and generous with information and recommendations. Trust them they won't steer you wrong.
Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway 

RR said...
Aug 27, 2013
-
Already Planning our Next Visit!

Date of Stay
August 19, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your lovely home. The house is clean and comfortable and decorated so beautifully. There are so many great books to read and movies to watch. And then, of course, there is the main attraction, which is the falls. We had so much fun hopping from rock to rock, or just sitting and meditating. Our dog Conrad is a little timid around water, so we didn't know what kind of reaction he would have. But he loved it! By the last day, he was hopping on the rocks too. (Maybe next time, he'll dare to go into the river!) We are already talking about renting again in May! Thank you again and again!